Harvey Pekar (1939-2010)

One of the greatest comic book writers died today and it seems only right to say something. Above is a clip from the film American Splendor, a film adaptation of his comic book of the same name. Its one of my all time favorite films and one of my favorite all time monologues. Enjoy.

9 Responses to “Harvey Pekar (1939-2010)”

  1. urdead2me Says:

    RIP – Harvey Pekar, 70, lived in Cleveland, Ohio all of his life. At the age of 26 he got a job as a file clerk at a V.A. hospital there and kept at it for the next 35 years. It was monotonous. http://urdead2me.wordpress.com/2010/07/12/rip-harvey-pekar/

  2. Ah yes, Any. It is indeed a classic dialogue from a film that has stood the test of time. Peckar was a great comic book writer, though in that area I’m rather under-exposed. 71 is not young, but these days one expects more.

    R.I.P.

    • Thanks Sam, and I do believe that American Splendor has been probably the best American film that almost no critic or film enthusiast mentioned in their best of the decade discussion. Allan didn’t even put it in the nearlies (Maybe it had something to do with the directors’ atrocious follow up, The Nanny Diaries but I see no reason for that to matter). I re-watched the film right after hearing of his death and agree with you 100% that it has stood the test of time. I also apologize to you and any other followers for not being as active this summer. I’ve been trying to watch as many films this season as possible and will have more posts up this month including my review of the Inception, Life During Wartime etc. as well as my essay for Dennis Hopper’s cult film The Last Film (hopefully by tonight). Thanks and I promise to have my own top 50 (or more) of the decade for the final decade poll.

  3. […] Our longtime friend, Anu, has a post up on deceased comic book icon Harvey Pekar, complete with a famous monologue from American Splendor: https://theconfidentialreport.wordpress.com/2010/07/13/harvey-pekar-1939-2010/ […]

  4. […] Our longtime friend, Anu, has a post up on deceased comic book icon Harvey Pekar, complete with a famous monologue from American Splendor: https://theconfidentialreport.wordpress.com/2010/07/13/harvey-pekar-1939-2010/ […]

  5. […] Our longtime friend, Anu, has a post up on deceased comic book icon Harvey Pekar, complete with a famous monologue from American Splendor: https://theconfidentialreport.wordpress.com/2010/07/13/harvey-pekar-1939-2010/ […]

  6. […] Our longtime friend, Anu, has a post up on deceased comic book icon Harvey Pekar, complete with a famous monologue from American Splendor: https://theconfidentialreport.wordpress.com/2010/07/13/harvey-pekar-1939-2010 […]

Leave a comment